Commissioner Keith Douglas

Commissioner Keith Douglas

Commissioner Keith Douglas (D-District 4) won re-election to a second term on the Butts County Board of Commissioners following a second challenge to his seat in a number of months. Douglas, 34, qualified to run for re-election earlier this year against another Democratic challenger, Charles Watts, defeating him in the Primaries. No Republicans qualified to run against him. Following the primary election, Howard McIntyre petitioned to run as an Independent candidate. The petition was accepted by Elections Director Ava Smith and McIntyre qualified to run as an Independent.

On Election Day, Douglas drew 583 votes to McIntyre’s 306 votes and will be declared the winner once the votes are certified by the State. In an interview with the Jackson Progress-Argus on Election Night, Douglas stated “I’m glad that this is over and would like to definitely thank all that played a part in my re-election and every citizen in Butts County that voted for me, that encouraged me, and those that encouraged others to go out and support me … I appreciate each and everyone’s influence in this election”.

This is Douglas’s third election cycle since taking office in 2009. That year, he was elected to fill the unexpired term of Commissioner Eddie Travis, who retired from public office due to health issues. In 2010 he ran unopposed for a term in his own right and during that term on the board, has seen property taxes reduced to their lowest level since the 1990’s. He has also completed both the Basic and Advanced Level Commissioner Certification Program offered by the University of Georgia’s Carl Vinson Institute of Government. He is employed with the Georgia Department of Corrections.

On the State level, all three members of the Butts County Legislative Delegation will return to office in 2015. Senator Burt Jones (R-SD25) ran unopposed for re-election to a second term of office. State Representative Andy Welch (R-HD110) faced opposition from challenger Kaye Shipley for re-election to a fourth term in the Georgia House, pulling 9,061 votes to Shipley’s 5,431. State Representative Susan Holmes (R-HD129) sought re-election to a third term in the Georgia House and was unopposed. Holmes also ran unopposed in 2012.

Governor Nathan Deal, Lieutenant Governor Casey Cagle and Secretary of State Brian Kemp were all returned to office by Georgia voters. On the Federal level, political newcomers David Perdue and Michelle Nunn vied for the US Senate seat being vacated by retiring Senator Saxby Chambliss with Perdue garnering 53% of the vote to Nunn’s 45% (a Libertarian candidate received 2%). In the US House 10th District, Jody Hice defeated Kenneth Dious, receiving 67% of the vote. Hice will replace Congressman Paul Broun who ran unsuccessfully for Senate in the primaries.

All election results are unofficial until certified by the State of Georgia.