Butts County Commissioners appointed three local individuals to serve on the recently formed Transportation Board at the October Board of Commissioners Meeting. The board, which will serve to advise local government officials on transportation related matters is made up of appointees representing the County, Jackson, Flovilla and Jenkinsburg. Three of the seven seats on the board are appointed by the Board of Commissioners, who chose three Butts County citizens with experience in business and transportation according to County officials. Those named were John W. Carter, Andrew Johnson and Stephen D. Moore

John W. Carter is the Vice President of Operations and Sales with May and Carter Oil Company, which currently operates in over ten counties. The Jackson native has advocated for the creation of a regional airport in Butts County and has spent considerable time researching and presenting proposals to local boards, civic organizations and government representatives about bringing an airport to the area. Carter has been actively involved in his community most of his life.

Andrew Johnson, who lives in west Butts County is the President of CMS, Inc. of Locust Grove. Johnson is a Professional Engineer who has worked on numerous transportation and constructions projects throughout Georgia. He also has been involved in the community, including serving as a past member of the Butts County Chamber Board as well as an active member of the Griffin Tech for Butts County Committee which eventually raised over a half a million dollars in local funds to help bring the current Southern Crescent Technical College campus to Jackson.

Stephen D. Moore, who lives in the Stark community is the Managing Partner and Land Planner for Moore Bass Consulting in McDonough Georgia. He brings 25 years of Civil Engineering and Community Master Planning to the table and has been actively involved in several community and civic organizations during his career.

“We received a number of high-caliber candidates for this board” said County Administrator Michael Brewer. “The Commissioners reviewed each candidate carefully, ultimately choosing those whom they felt had the greatest amount of experience in understanding and contributing to the types of transportation matters that this board will focus on”.

The County is still awaiting official notification from the three cities, naming who their voting members will be. “Jackson will be appointing two members and both Jenkinsburg and Flovilla will each appoint one” said Brewer on Tuesday. In addition to the seven voting members, there will be a limited number of ex-officio members including a DOT representative, a member from the Butts County Development Authority, a representative of the Community Development Department and a representative of the Three Rivers Regional Commission. County officials were notified that Joe Brown would be serving on the board representing the Development Authority and Robert Hiett would represent Three Rivers.

“I am very pleased with the quality of individuals the Board has chosen to appoint” said Commission Chairman Gator Hodges. “This group could play an important role in future projects and they all bring a wide degree of experience and knowledge that will be beneficial to the Transportation Board” he added.