Commissioner’s Office

Home - Our Government - Commissioner’s Office
Our elected body and our staff will create an organizational culture of workforce enrichment, encouragement, teamwork, trust, respect, creativity and innovation. We will be leaders in innovation, fiscal responsibility, targeted financial resource planning and have a sustainable tax base. – Strategic Priorities of Butts County. 


District 1 : Ken Rivers

Ken Rivers, District 1 Commissioner, was elected in 2016 and took office in the 119th Session (2017) of the Board of Commissioners, becoming the 70th person to be elected as a County Commissioner of Butts County. In 2020, he ran unopposed for re-election and began his second term of office for the 123rd Session beginning in January of 2021. Commissioner Rivers represents the north, northeast and eastern portions of Butts County including Worthville, Jackson Lake and Stark. He is an insurance professional who owns his own insurance business and also is a graduate of the Georgia Academy for Economic Development and a 2017 graduate of the Certified County Commissioner program through the University of Georgia and ACCG.

Commissioner Rivers served as Vice Chairman for the 120th Session in 2018 and as Chairman of the 121st and 122nd Sessions. Follow Commissioner Rivers on Twitter @KenRiversNet for updates and activities.


 District 2 : Robert L. Henderson, Sr.

Commissioner Robert L. Henderson, Sr., District 2, became the 65th Butts County Commissioner when he was elected in 2008. He took office for the 111th Session of the Board of Commissioners in 2009 and has completed three terms of office. He began his 4th term of office with the start of the 123rd Session in 2021.

Commissioner Henderson represents the southeast and southern portions of Butts County including Flovilla, Cork, Mt. Vernon and portions of Jackson. He is the owner of R.L. Henderson and Sons Tree Removal Service and also serves as the Pastor of Rock Creek Baptist Church in Indian Springs. He holds certification as both a Basic and Advanced County Commissioner. He was elected Vice Chairman for 2013, 2014 and 2015 and Board Chairman for 2017.


District 3 : Joe Brown, Jr.

Commissioner Joe Brown Jr. became the 69th person elected as a County Commissioner of Butts County in 2014 and took office in 2015 with the beginning of the 117th Session. He ran unopposed for reelection in 2018 and began his second term in January of 2019. In 2022, he qualified for a third term of office and was declared the winner by running without opposition. He represents District 3 which covers southwestern Butts County including Towaliga, McKibben and part of the City of Jackson.

He is a businessman in Jackson and works as the President of American Mills. He and his wife Cathy are members of the Towaliga Baptist Church. Commissioner Brown has previously served multiple terms of elected office on the Butts County Board of Education and also served as an appointed member of the Development Authority for a number of years. He currently serves as a member of the Butts County Hospital Authority. Commissioner Brown has completed the Certified County Commissioner curriculum through the University of Georgia and ACCG and in 2022, he completed the Specialist Certification in the Advanced Certified Commissioner Program, specializing in Economic Development. He enjoys sports and has a passion for golf.

Commissioner Brown was elected by his peers as Chairman of the 123rd Session spanning calendar year 2021 and was re-elected as Chairman of the 124th Session, which spans calendar year 2022. He began his third term of office in January of 2023.


District 4 : J. Keith Douglas

J. Keith Douglas was elected in a special called election in November 2009 and took office immediately in the 111th Session upon winning his seat, becoming the 67th person to be elected as a County Commissioner of Butts County. He was re-elected a year later in 2010 to a full term of office and began his first full term when the 113th Session was seated in 2011. He has since completed his Basic and Advanced Commissioner Certification from the University of Georgia’s Carl Vinson Institute of Government, as well as his Specialist Certification in Intergovernmental Relations.

He is an employee of the Georgia Department of Corrections where he serves as a Unit Manager for the Warden. He stood for re-election in 2014, 2018 and 2022 and began his 4th term in January 2023.

He represents District 4, which includes the the southern part of Jenkinsburg, Shiloh Road, England Chapel Road, portions of Jackson and areas connecting these. Commissioner Douglas is an active community volunteer who enjoys giving his time freely to work with youth in the 4-H programs of Butts County. He is also an ordained Deacon with Zion Missionary Baptist Church and is active in his church’s programs and community outreach. He served one term as Vice Chairman of the Board in 2012 and one term as Chairman in 2016, prior to being tapped to serve as Vice Chairman again in 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022. In 2023 the Board elected him to serve as their Chairman for the 125th session.


District 5 : Russ Crumbley

Commissioner Russ Crumbley became the 48th person elected as a County Commissioner in 1984 and took office in 1985 with the beginning of the 87th Session. He served three consecutive terms (12 years) before choosing not to run again and leaving office in January of 1997. Following his retirement from Central Georgia EMC, Commissioner Crumbley returned to public life and ran unopposed for a fourth term of office in 2016, retaking office in 2017. He again ran unopposed in 2020 for a fifth term of office which began in 2021, making him the longest tenured Commissioner on the Board in terms of public service. Commissioner Crumbley became a Certified County Commissioner in 2017 and was elected to serve as Chairman by his colleagues for the 2018 session. He completed Specialist Certification in the Advanced Certified County Commissioner program in 2022, specializing in Public Safety.

He currently enjoys retirement and is actively involved in Rock Springs Church with his wife, Rhonda. They have two grown daughters, as well as several grandchildren whose scholastic and athletic pursuits they enjoy attending and supporting.